Asia, South America rule New7Wonders of Nature

The provisional ‘New7Wonders of Nature’ have been announced in Switzerland, with six of the seven winners hailing from Asia and South America.

The first count of votes have revealed (in alphabetical order) the Amazon (South America), Halong Bay (Vietnam), Iguazu Falls (Argentina/Brazil), Jeju Island (South Korea), Komodo (Indonesia), Puerto Princesa Underground River (The Philippines) and Table Mountain (South Africa) as winners of the survey, which garnered worldwide interest and participation since its inception in 2007.

Missing out on the cut were such sites as Tanzania’s Mount Kilimanjaro, the Dead Sea, the Grand Canyon, the Galapagos Islands and Uluru in Australia.

The results of voting, which ended at 11:11 GMT on 11 November 2011, will now be validated and independently verified, with the confirmed winners to be announced by the New7Wonders Foundation in early 2012.

The Swiss agency will then work with each location to help organize official inauguration events and celebrations.

“I would like to thank the many champions, citizens, voluntary organisations, public bodies and governments that have helped promote the New7Wonders of Nature campaign over the past four years, starting with over 440 locations from over 220 countries and all the way to the 28 Finalist candidates from whom the New7Wonders of Nature have been chosen,” New7Wonders Founder-President Bernard Weber said after announcing the results.

Already underway is the New7Wonders Cities campaign, the third survey to be conducted by the Zurich-based organization following the man-made New7Wonders of the World and the New7Wonders of Nature.

Nominations for the top seven metropolises of the world close on 31 December 2011, with participating cities to be announced on New Years Day 2012.

Source = e-Travel Blackboard: M.H
Pin It

Comments are closed.